African Medicines Regulatory Harmonization (AMRH) Initiative: Annual Report 2017

Resource Type: 

Following endorsement of the AU Model Law on Medical Products Regulation by the AU Heads of State and Government Summit in January 2016 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, twelve (12) out of 55 countries have either reviewed or are in the process of reviewing their national laws, in line with the AU Model Law. These countries are: Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso, Seychelles, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Namibia, Swaziland, the Gambia, United Republic of Tanzania (Zanzibar), Republic of Rwanda, Republic of Burundi and the Republic of Mozambique.

Terms of Reference for a network of legal experts have been developed for discussion with relevant stakeholders in the spirit of domestication of the AU Model Law. NEPAD shared a framework for domestication of the AU Model Law for benchmarking exercise and national multi-stakeholder consultation on review, updating and harmonization of national medicines laws undertaken by the EAC Partner States NMRAs in June 2017.

Back to Top