Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

There are five NEPAD programmes being implemented in COMESA. 

Current Programmes:

  1. CAADP

COMESA signed the Regional CAADP Compact in November 2014.  It has 19 member states – Burundi, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe – which are at varying stages in the CAADP implementation process.  

Technical training to test real time data collection through the application of interactive templates was provided to statistics bureaus in COMESA and eight Member States, to monitor high impact indicators for Agenda 2063 and other continental and global commitments. 

COMESA has increased monitoring and evaluation to gather evidence of impact and results in agriculture interventions through CAADP.  With the Malabo Declaration requirement for biennial reviews of countries to monitor adherence to targets, the communication strategy has to ensure they are well informed about the Malabo commitments and expectations.

Various stakeholders ranging from government and the private sector through to farmers, particularly women, youth and small-holder farmers, have been reached through targeted communication campaigns.  

  1. NEPAD Climate Change Fund

•    The NEPAD Agency supported COMESA and its Member Countries Uganda, Tanzania, Kenya, Namibia, Botswana, and Ethiopia in the areas of policy, training, capacity development, awareness creation, research, and knowledge management. 

•    In an effort to combat and mitigate the challenges posed by climate change, over 1 300 women in Ethiopia were trained in entrepreneurship, leadership and environmental protection and management. This was undertaken in collaboration with the Ministry of Women, Children and Youth Affairs of Ethiopia. Relatedly, the Government of Ethiopia allocated about 60 hectares of land for afforestation, and subsequently, about 290 000 seedlings were planted.
•    Green technologies in the form of solar powered Eco stoves were donated to 39 households in Uganda. A tool kit enabling adaptation to climate change in Uganda was produced.
•    Five Country Climate Smart Agriculture (CSA) Programmes were validated and aligned with the National Visions, National Development Plans and the Agriculture sector policies and strategies for Uganda, Tanzania, Kenya, Namibia and Botswana. 
•    Five Country CSA Programmes policy briefs for Uganda, Tanzania, Kenya, Namibia and Botswana were compiled.
•    Multi-sectoral/multidisciplinary National Expert Coordination Teams from Environment and Agriculture were established for preparing the five COMESA (Uganda, Tanzania, Kenya, Namibia and Botswana) country CSA Programmes.

  1. Gender, Climate Change and Agriculture Support Programme (GCCASP)

COMESA was involved in the consultations that informed the design of the project; and will continue to work closely with NEPAD in up-scaling the project to more African countries.

  • Africa Power Vision:

  • PIDA:

  • PICI:

  • Gender

  • NEPAD Spanish Fund

  • Capacity Development

  • RECs Capacity Development Focal Points


No results found !!!